“Daddy’s Gonna Kill Ralphie!”

Warehouse Find

6a011570c3de61970c019b037f264c970d

Christmas is coming again, so I thought I’d reminisce a little about one of my favorite holiday movies: A Christmas Story(1983).

I didn’t see this movie until many, many years after it was released. It was in the mid to late 90s, when I was listening to a couple of talk radio show hosts praising this now holiday classic, that it first time it came to my attention. My curiosity peaked, I sought it out. Finding it wasn’t too difficult, because by that time television had turned it into a holiday programming staple.

“Oh, did you miss it? Change the channel. Someone else will be playing it.”

Television was great at taking modestly successfully theatrical releases and turning them into required viewing classics. It’s A Wonderful Life and The Wizard of Oz are two fine examples of television’s influence. A Christmas Story may be the most recent film to…

View original post 432 more words

Leave a Reply

