The Imposter (2012)

twocentspluschange

Director: Bart Layton

[Note: there is no way to discuss this documentary without mentioning spoilers, so consider yourself warned.]

I found out about this documentary while watching one of my favorite YouTube channels called Every Frame A Painting. This excellent web series discusses and analyzes different types of cinematic shots and framing devices, each episode focusing on one stylistic choice (like tracking shots) through one particular movie or director’s oeuvre. The episode on the documentary The Imposter intrigued me quite a bit, and since it is offered streaming on Netflix, I decided to give it a go.

The film is extremely perplexing for a variety of reasons, and even though I watched it over a week ago, I am still not sure how I feel about my viewing experience. The documentary tells the tale of Frédéric Bourdin, a con man who tricks a grieving family and the…

View original post 832 more words

Leave a Reply

